Getting ready to start the MBA

Welcome to my blog!

I decided to start writing this blog as I will shortly be embarking upon a three-year distance learning MBA at the University of Warwick, and wanted to share my experiences along the way (because of course I won’t be busy enough!). The course starts this Saturday (7th January), so before I get started, here’s a little bit about me…

  • My name is Matt Cooling and I live in Leeds in the UK.
  • I am married to Becky, and we have a three-year old son, Joshua.
  • I work for Cisco as a Business Development Manager, which involves working with global customers in the automotive and retail sectors (I’ll hopefully share more about this in a future post).
  • I’m interested in technology and an avid Apple fan.
  • In my spare time I enjoy spending time with family and friends, eating out, watching films, and skiing.

In addition to my blog, I also hope to be providing updates on twitter, so please follow me here if you are interested.

Until my next post…

3 thoughts on “Getting ready to start the MBA”

  1. Hi Matt,
    I’m Mohamed from Egypt. Actually I’d like to thank you for sharing your expierence in MBA. I wish success. After I had read the whole blog till now, I came up with some questions. Your answers will help a lot.
    1- When are WBS live sessions run? morining or evening? Are they run in certain days?how long does it take?
    2- How do you get support from the tutor after the sessions if you face any question?
    3- While checking the website about Warwick week, I thought you choose your core module that you want to study but I understood that it is standard week and you do not have an option to study what you want in this week. i.e you do not study the whole week one subject. Do I understand correctly?
    Thanks in advance for your help

    Like

  2. Hi Mohamed,

    1. The wbsLive sessions are run at varying times/days – some at 6pm, others around lunchtime. Most are Mon-Fri, although there have been some on a weekend. However, they are all recorded to allow you to review at a later date if you cannot make the live session. Most sessions last 1 – 1.5 hours.

    2. Most questions are asked online on the my.wbs discussion boards, as this allows other students to see the answers, and other tutors can answer questions as well. However, most tutors wil also answer queries via e-mail is required.

    3. In the first year, Warwick Week has a fixed agenda with one day allocated for each module, plus two extra days for other content during the first Warwick Week (in general, the first year has compulsory core modules only). In the second year, the requirement to visit Warwick Week depends on what elective modules are taken. Some modules can also be taken in-person only, where you visit Warwick (or some international locations) for a full week of intensive study – see http://www.wbs.ac.uk/students/mba/learn/electives.cfm for more details.

    Hope this helps,

    Matt

    Like

Leave a Reply

